Open Universities in India
Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University (YCMOU)


Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University (YCMOU) was established in July 1989 by the Act XX-(1989) of the Maharashtra State Legislature. It is the fifth Open University in the country. The jurisdiction of this university is entire state of Maharashtra.

The university provides relaxed entry procedures. However it does maintain its standards for examinations. The university may admit a student even when he is studying in another university / Board or is continuing his professional career. It also does not ask for documents like Transfer Certificate at the time of admission. At the same time the university takes all precautions (just as the other universities do) to ensure that the standards and quality of, education and examinations, are preserved.

The Head office of the university is located at Nashik. The university operates through its eight Regional Centers (RCs) at Amaravati, Aurangabad, Kolhapur, Mumbai, Nagpur, Nanded, Nashik, Pune and many Study Centers (SCs).

About 54 different academic programmes and 204 different courses (subjects) are offered through this university. Every year, about 1 lakh new students are registered for various programmes, while total number of registered students on the roll is about 4 lakh. About 8 regional centers and 1400 study centers provide various academic and student support services to these students, distributed all over the state of Maharashtra, having area of about 3 lakh square km (about 800 km north-south and 600 km east-west). About 4300 counselors impart academic instructions in 3 major languages, which includes English, Hindi, and Marathi. Massive size of this education system is clearly indicated with these figures!